Why do they do it?

Why do they do it?: I cant stand grunting in the gym…

    We have all heard it- the grunting and groaning from the person training next to you. Apart from being a habit so annoying it makes me want to burst my own ear drums, what purpose does it actually serve?
    I understand that a forceful exhalation of air can give a person extra help when lifting weights, but could somebody please explain how it helps to maximise performance on a cross-trainer or stepper? These machines do not actually require a great deal of power to operate- certainly not an amount that would require loud grunting from a fully-grown adult. It is a cause of major concern for me recently.
    It is actually a widespread thing. I first heard the grunting phenomena whilst watching some women’s (I use the term women’s loosely) Wimbledon tennis match a few years ago. In this instance I would imagine the grunting is some sort of gamesmanship, designed to put the opponent off their stroke. I can’t imagine it is used to generate more force in their shots- the steroids do that job for them.
    I am digressing somewhat, so I will get back to my question- why do they do it? There are a few people I have come across during my time in gyms that make such noises- none of whom have particularly good physiques. It is not even that they are unfit; the people I am thinking about train regularly, yet make sounds I can only imagine are heard in the maternity ward of a busy hospital or a major battlefield during a particularly bloody war. One person I can think of makes noises so terrible I have put the local hospital on speed dial. You can never be too careful.
    Is it an attention-seeking thing? Perhaps, but then there are easier ways to draw attention to yourself than sounding like you are giving birth to a sideways on, fully-grown Giraffe. Exercising in fancy dress is one way. If you are an attention-seeking grunter, allow your creativity to roam free- there are plenty of other attention-seeking ideas you could try.
    Is it a pain response? Possibly, but if something hurts that much, just don’t do it. Try something else. The only thing I can think of that is painful enough to bring out that level of grunting from me is stubbing my toe on furniture when I am walking barefoot around the house. Guess what? I now pay attention as to where I place my feet, as I don’t want to cause myself that much pain again and have to grunt so loudly. So, if a particular exercise causes you enough discomfort to grunt, try another.
    Is it an age thing? I don’t think so. One of my clients is 75 and makes nothing like the level of noise the grunters do. In fact, I have noticed the grunting is most prevalent between the ages of 30-45. Perhaps it is some middle-aged thing.
    Until I can find a definite reason for grunting, the search continues. In the meantime, if you are a grunter, may I take this opportunity to kindly ask you to shut the hell up? It annoys people around you, it makes you sound like an idiot, and even cave men developed the capability to make more advanced sounds than apes.
    Thank you.
One Response

  1. MY 56 YEAR OLD HUSBAND ALWAYS GRUNTS! HE TURNS THE STEERING WHEEL OF THE CAR AND A GRUNT COMES OUT! I CANT F***IN STAND IT ANYMORE!!
    HE SITS-HE GRUNTS-HE STANDS-HE GRUNTS ! FOOD IS PUT IN FRONT OF HIM AND ITS LIKE HE IS SO FIXED ON IT!!! I CANT STAND IT ANYMORE!!! I NEED TO GET HELP , I THINK!! I AM 47 AND I AM SO FULL OF ENERGY. THEN I GOTTA BE AROUND HIM AND HEAR ALL THESE GOOFY NOISES!! IS IT ME?

Leave a Reply

